Record of Honoris Causa Degrees w.e.f. 1949 Panjab University - Panjab University Chandigarh ਪੰਜਾਬ ਯੂਨੀਵਰਸਿਟੀ ਚੰਡੀਗੜ੍ਹ पंजाब विश्वविद्यालय चंडीगढ़ पंजाब यूनिवर्सिटी चंडीगढ़ Chandigarh India

S.No.Date of ConvocationName of Recipient of Honris Causa DegreeDegree
1.  05/Mar/1949Justice Mehr Chand MahajanDoctor of Laws
2.  05/Mar/1949Sardar Vallabhbhai PatelDoctor of Laws
3.  05/Mar/1949Sh. Chandulal Madhavlal TrivediDoctor of Laws
4.  01/May/1949Bhai Vir SinghDoctor of Oriental Learning
5.  06/Jan/1951Dr. Gopi Chand BhargavaDoctor of Laws
6.  06/Jan/1951His Highness Maharaja YadvendraDoctor of Laws
7.  06/Jan/1951Dr. Rajendra PrasadDoctor of Literature
8.  19/Dec/1959Dr. C. D. DeshmukhDoctor of Literature
9.  23/Dec/1961Dr. Bhai Jodh SinghDoctor of Literature
10.  23/Dec/1961Dr. Ajudhia Nath KhoslaDoctor of Science
11.  07/Jan/1962Dr. F. Cyril JamesDoctor of Literature
12.  22/Dec/1962Sh. Narhari Vishnu GadgilDoctor of Laws
13.  19/Dec/1964Dr. M. C. ChaglaDoctor of Laws
14.  18/Dec/1965Sh. Swaran SinghDoctor of Laws
15.  23/Dec/1967Dr. Prem Nath KirpalDoctor of Literature
16.  16/Mar/1968Dr. Raul PrebischDoctor of Literature
17.  27/Jul/1968Dr. William George ArcherDoctor of Literature
18.  14/Feb/1969Padma Vibhushan Dr. Hargobind KhuranaDoctor of Science
19.  25/Oct/1969Dr. Gurdial Singh DhillonDoctor of Laws
20.  05/Feb/1972Dr. B. N. ChakravartyDoctor of Laws
21.  03/Jan/1973Smt. Indira GandhiDoctor of Laws
22.  06/Sep/1973Her Imperial Highness Princess Ashraf PahalviDoctor of Literature
23.  12/Mar/1975His Excellency Mr. Mohammed DaoudDoctor of Laws
24.  31/Oct/1975Mr. Shridath Surendranath RamphalDoctor of Laws
25.  14/Nov/1976Dr. Jose Maria RudaDoctor of Laws
26.  18/Mar/1978Dr. Nagendra SinghDoctor of Laws
27.  18/Mar/1978Professor Satish DhawanDoctor of Science
28.  01/Mar/1980Dr. Gopal Swarup PathakDoctor of Laws
29.  01/Mar/1980Dewan Anand KumarDoctor of Science
30.  12/Mar/1983Justice Sankar Prasad MitraDoctor of Laws
31.  12/Mar/1983Sh. Jagan Nath KaushalDoctor of Laws
32.  12/Mar/1983Dr. Manmohan SinghDoctor of Literature
33.  12/Mar/1983Sh. P. L. TandonDoctor of Literature
34.  10/Mar/1984Sh. B. K. NehruDoctor of Literature
35.  31/Mar/1985Justice M HidayatullahDoctor of Laws
36.  07/Mar/1987Smt. Amrita PritamDoctor of Literature
37.  07/Mar/1987Professor Abdus SalamDoctor of Science
38.  07/Mar/1987Professor Yash PalDoctor of Science
39.  30/Apr/1988Justice R. S.PathakDoctor of Laws
40.  30/Apr/1988Professor D. S. KothariDoctor of Science
41.  17/Oct/1999Sh. Inder Kumar GujralDoctor of Laws
42.  17/Oct/1999Dr. Amartya Sen*Doctor of Literature
43.  17/Oct/1999Dr. Mulk Raj AnandDoctor of Literature
44.  17/Oct/1999Dr. Ashok VijhDoctor of Science
45.  27/Dec/2000Professor Jagdish N. BhagwatiDoctor of Literature
46.  28/Dec/2001Dr. Justice A.S.AnandDoctor of Laws
47.  28/Dec/2001Hon'ble Herb Dhaliwal (Mr. Harbance Singh Dhaliwal)Doctor of Laws
48.  28/Dec/2001Mr. N. R. Narayana MurthyDoctor of Science
49.  28/Jan/2003Dr. Ranjit Kumar ChandraDoctor of Science
50.  13/Dec/2003Professor G. C. PandeyDoctor of Literature
51.  13/Dec/2003Dr. Krishnaswamy KasturirangamDoctor of Science
52.  13/Dec/2003Lt. Gen. J. F. R. Jacob.Doctor of Science
53.  14/Feb/2005Sh. Ashwani KumarDoctor of Laws
54.  14/Feb/2005Dr. Sardara Singh JohlDoctor of Literature
55.  14/Feb/2005His Excellency Triloki Nath ChaturvediDoctor of Literature
56.  04/Feb/2006Sh. Kapil SibalDoctor of Laws
57.  04/Feb/2006Sh. Montek Singh AhluwaliaDoctor of Literature
58.  07/Mar/2007Sh. Rajendra Kumar SabooDoctor of Literature
59.  07/Mar/2007Dr. T. S. KlerDoctor of Science
60.  07/Mar/2007Professor S. P. AgarwalDoctor of Science
61.  16/Jan/2008Dr. Pritam SinghDoctor of Literature
62.  16/Jan/2008Professor G. K. ChadhaDoctor of Literature
63.  16/Jan/2008Sh. Yash ChopraDoctor of Literature
64.  16/Jan/2008Dr. Rajinder K. PachouriDoctor of Science
65.  29/Mar/2009Dr. Ved MehtaDoctor of Literature
66.  29/Mar/2009Professor Amrik SinghDoctor of Literature
67.  29/Mar/2009Dr. Naranjan S. DhallaDoctor of Science
68.  29/Mar/2009Professor Martanda VermaDoctor of Science
69.  03/Nov/2009Dr. Manmohan SinghDoctor of Laws
70.  24/Mar/2010Sh. H. K. DuaDoctor of Literature
71.  24/Mar/2010Dr. A. R. KidwaiDoctor of Science
72.  24/Mar/2010Professor Goverdhan MehtaDoctor of Science
73.  14/Feb/2011Sh. Khushwant SinghDoctor of Literature
74.  14/Feb/2011Professor C. N. R. RaoDoctor of Science
75.  14/Feb/2011Professor Shenggen FanDoctor of Science
76.  16/Dec/2011His Excellency N. N. VohraDoctor of Laws
77.  16/Dec/2011Sh. Som Nath ChatterjeeDoctor of Laws
78.  16/Dec/2011Smt. Sushma SwarajDoctor of Laws
79.  10/Mar/2013Professor Anish Kapoor*Doctor of Literature
80.  10/Mar/2013Professor Romila ThaparDoctor of Literature
81.  10/Mar/2013Professor Ashoke Sen, FRSDoctor of Science
82.  10/Mar/2013Professor M. S. Raghunathan, FRSDoctor of Science
83.  09/Mar/2014Professor Gurdial SinghDoctor of Literature
84.  09/Mar/2014Professor R. P. BambahDoctor of Science
85.  14/Mar/2015Shri Kailash SatryarthiDoctor of Laws
86.  14/Mar/2015Dr. M. S. Swaminathan#Doctor of Science
87.  14/Mar/2015Professor Manjul BhargavaDoctor of Science
88.  14/Mar/2015Professor Venkatraman Ramakrishnan **Doctor of Science
89.  13/Mar/2016Professor Harkishan SinghDoctor of Science
90.  13/Mar/2016Sh. Shiv Nadar **Doctor of Science
91.  25/Mar/2017Professor Murli Manohar JoshiDoctor of Literatrue
92.  25/Mar/2017Dr. Nuruddin Farah (Recommended in 2016)Doctor of Literature
93.  25/Mar/2017Dr. Narinder Singh Kapany*Doctor of Science
94.  25/Mar/2017Professor G. S. KhushDoctor of Science
95.  04/Mar/2018Justice Jagdish Singh Khehar (Recommended in 2017)Doctor of Laws
96.  04/Mar/2018Smt. Sumitra Mahajan**Doctor of Laws
97.  04/Mar/2018Professor M. M. SharmaDoctor of Science
98.  04/Mar/2018Professor Sir Tejinder Singh VirdeeDoctor of Science
99.  28/Apr/2019Dr. Sudha N. Murty$Doctor of Literature
100.  06/May/2022Dr. Krishna Ella%Doctor of Science
101.  06/May/2022Professor Ajay Kumar SoodDoctor of Science
102.  06/May/2022Smt. Suchitra Ella≠Doctor of Science
103.  20/May/2023Justice Ranjan GogoiDoctor of Laws
104.  20/May/2023Dr. Gagandeep Kang**Doctor of Science
105.  07/Mar/2024Professor Unnat P. PanditDoctor of Laws
106.  07/Mar/2024Dr. Krishnaswamy Kasturirangan **Doctor of Science
107.  07/Mar/2024Professor Balram BhargavaDoctor of Science

* Degree not received yet.
**Did not attend the Convocation.
#Recommended in 2011, Received in 2014.
$Recommended in 2019, Received in 2023
%Recommended in 2022, Received in 2024
≠Recommended in 2022, Received in 2024  


Enquiry No(s): 1800-180-2065, +91 172 2534818, 2534866 (from 9:30 am to 1:00 pm & 2:30 pm to 5:00 pm on working days )

© 1997- 2024 - Panjab University, Chandigarh, India. Developed by: Computer Centre, Panjab University  |   Disclaimer